Foreign Aid

I’ve been feeling pretty sick the past few days, especially around the sinus region, which hasn’t been good in terms of putting together long strings of coherent thought. So I figured I’d just talk for a bit about something that’s at least been helping me keep a smile on my face. Actually first I’ll show it, even though most of you have probably viewed it already. It’s really not something you watch just once:

 

The sheer, crazy exuberance of this video is like a euphoria trigger. It’s infectious, and addictive, and it’s no surprise that it’s become a worldwide phenomenon with close to 40 million views on YouTube alone. Also it’s a catchy tune. There are people out there who say “Call Me Maybe” is a catchy tune, and after finally watching that video a couple weeks ago just to see what all the meme was about, I can safely say they don’t know from catchy. “Call Me Maybe” is forgettable. “Gangnam Style” lodged itself in my head from the start, despite it being sung 99% in Korean.

The last time I can remember being this excited over a music video was back in the heyday of “Tunak Tunak Tun”, which is not nearly as pretty looking as “Gangnam Style” but certainly has that same sense of exuberance, as well as “I don’t know what he’s singing about but I like it.”

 

I think about these, and I think about films like Rare Exports, Troll Hunter, and The Good, The Bad, and the Weird, and jump to the strange and completely unsubstantiated conclusion that these foreign offerings just burst at the seams with a wide-eyed exuberance and imagination that I don’t find much of domestically in recent times. They’re not afraid to look stupid, for one thing, and that gives them a certain sublime quality I appreciate, especially when I’m feeling lost in the doldrums of sickness and cynicism. Bless ’em for it, and bless the Internet for bringing it all together.

About Clint

Clint Wolf is an opinionated nerd, who writes a comic (Zombie Ranch) about cowboys who wrangle zombies. We didn't claim he made sense. http://cwolf.zxq.net/
This entry was posted in I'm Just Sayin, Music Just Music and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

