A Father’s Dilemma

My son told me something very shocking that I’m having a hard time processing.  I’ve tried to be open minded in what I allow him to be exposed to, to not live in fear that he would embrace that which he witnessed.  I thought good parenting would be enough to counter the deficient values of the modern world. 

I knew something like this could happen, but it’s different when it’s your own kid. 

I mean, I’ve tried to teach him right from wrong from the very beginning.  I’ve tried to teach him about how original intent should not be sugar coated just because the truth is hard to swallow, or dare I say, politically incorrect.  I guess I didn’t try hard enough.  I guess I failed to convey how truly bad his chosen course is, choosing to dampen my criticism in an effort to shelter my son from the true nature of evil. 

I mean, he’s only 5.  There’s still time to change his mind, isn’t there?  But can I stop him in time, or should I let it happen once?  But if I condone it once, if I let him hold memories of our approval of this decision, if I let him see pictures of himself dressed like that, what else would it lead to?  Would it cement in his mind the notion that this is okay, that it’s normal for a boy to dress and act in this manner?

He’s so willing in his desire to pursue this course.  He acts like it’s perfectly normal and acceptable. 

I need to calm down and collect myself.  I need to reaffirm that I love my son, no matter his choices in life, even if that means that next year, for Halloween he chooses to dress up as…it’s too horrible to say…

Why???

About Andrew

I'm a Christian, American, liberal, geeky, thoughtful, Northwest-transplanted Angeleno husband, father, and pundit who writes about anything he can think of.
This entry was posted in Just Wrong and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

