So Sorry for the Absence

First, let me apologize for my truancy over the last few weeks. I don’t want to not post and I didn’t intend to not post, I just happened to find myself swamped with work because, well, I got a new job.

Don’t worry, I’m still selling wine and I still work from home when I’m not on the road, so it’s not like I’m punching a time clock down at the salt mines, but for literally the first time in my life I am now a salaried, full-time employee for a medium-large company. And let me tell you, it’s pretty great, and I’ll leave it at that.

As someone who has been blogging more-or-less regularly since 2002, I find myself at long last out of things to say. Or rather, out of things to say that I haven’t already said. And I know what you’re thinking: hey! why don’t you just rewrite posts you’ve already written like every other food and wine blogger out there? Simply put, I can’t. The thought makes my soul cry. Other than topics I’ve reiterated by accident or by dint of being tipsy when I wrote one or the other or both, I consciously try to always write about something new to me that I find interesting.

But it’s getting harder and harder. I’m not that old, but it feels like everything that’s going on right now feels so very similar to what was happening when I first fired up the old Blogspot site and started ranting at the world in my shared apartment at Telegraph and Dwight in Berkeley that it makes it difficult to find the inspiration to write something wholly new. Financial turmoil. Crises in the Middle East (and Eastern Europe, for that matter). The Simpsons. It seems like America is in need of some cultural dynamism to shake us up and push us forward but we don’t want to take the time to look for it. Obama’s election had promise until his presidency was rapidly subdued by partisan inaction and Democratic Corporatism.

So what I mean to say in all this is that I will continue to write and will redouble my efforts to publish my weekly, for lack of a better term, column, but I’m not sure what it is I’ll be writing about. I imagine it’s going to be a lot more like this: philosophical and topical but with a heavy dose of food and wine still in the mix. So thank you to my loyal reader(s) and let’s get back on the horse and keep on truckin’! Wagons ho! Full steam ahead!

About David D.

I'm a wine professional. Like a real one who makes most of his living in wine and have for most of my adult life. I also write, but you can see that.
This entry was posted in Armchair Philosophy, I'm Just Sayin and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to So Sorry for the Absence

  1. mfennvt says:

    Congrats on the new job!

  2. tsuhelm says:

    Congrats on the new same job with a salary :)

Leave a Reply

