My Resolutions for 2014

Let’s steer clear of the usual wine and food humdrum and let’s talk New Year’s Resolutions. I’ve been told the key to successful resolutions is to set specific goals as opposed to nebulous objectives like “lose weight” or “pick my nose less.” So let’s talk resos.

  1. Never use the term “resos” again.
  2. Cancel DirecTV. Have you ever actually looked at how much you spend on cable or satellite television every year? It’s probably in the four figures, deeply so if you include fancy sports packages. With the demise of pretty much all of my “must-watch” shows, I’ve decided that, after thinking about it for a couple, DirecTV is going away. In its place will be Netflix, HuluPlus, an HD anttena for broadcast, and a handful of shows picked up on iTunes. I know of a lot better ways I can spend $150 a month.
  3. Drive less. Okay, that’s non-specific, I know. The fact is, I can’t really set a number, but I need to drive less. I have to drive less. My insurance is through the roof. This is going to be tricky, since I have to drive for work, but let’s see what I can do to make it happen.
  4. Dine out once a week. Sure it’s easy, but it’s money needlessly spent and extra calories needlessly consumed. It’s time to cook more, cook better food, and spend money where it matters. Holidays and football Sundays are exempt.
  5. Drink out no more than twice a week. I live in a social apartment building. I have a great roof and wine galore, why spend the extra cash? Again, football Sundays are exempt.

Alright kids! Happy 2013 and here’s to a fantastic 2014. Good luck having more fun, losing that weight, dusting off those skis, or stopping beating your husband. Whatever it takes. Cheers.

About David D.

I'm a wine professional. Like a real one who makes most of his living in wine and have for most of my adult life. I also write, but you can see that.
This entry was posted in Armchair Philosophy and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

