Sailing Away: Huell Howser … Part I

My original post for this week was derailed by numerous things, including the news of Huell Howser’s death. He was a staple of Southern California for his distinctly not Southern Californian manner. His joy for things is pretty damned infectious.

Some four or five San Diego Comic-Cons back, I was stuck behind an overturned meat truck and spent five hours slowly lurching toward San Diego. Finally reaching the city, I was dead tired and cancelled all my Day One plans. I get to the hotel room where Star has already checked in. Hoping for some mindless television to lull me into sleep, I soon find Huell making his way through Bakersfield. Puzzled, Star asks me about Huell and I give a thirty second explanation. A few minutes later, Huell is in a candy factory and says with no small delight, “That’s the biggest piece of butterscotch I’ve ever seen!” Star came to understand why we love Huell and my zest for the day returned.

This is the closest I’ve come to finding that moment online:

More to follow.

About Erik

Erik Amaya is the host of Tread Perilously and the former Head Film/TV writer at Bleeding Cool. He has also contributed to sites like CBR, Comics Alliance and Fanbase Press. He is also the voice of Puppet Tommy on "The Room Responds."
This entry was posted in Newsmash, Projected Pixels and Emulsion and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

